Upgrading software that you use and depend on all the time, especially for your work, can be a nervous process. Questions like; will my old data still be available? can I rollback if it goes horribly wrong? Upgrading a phone, is potentially worse. Not only could data be lost, but also the ability to communicate!
Luckily it seems that Apple have this worked out. Today I upgraded my iPhone 3G (version 2.0) to version 3.0. It worked beautifully.
Having expected to lose everything on my phone (as the update apparently wipes it during the upgrade process), I made sure everything was backed up, even to the point of remembering which episode of House I was up too. However I performed the upgrade (took about 30 minutes) and everything worked. Well it has so far 🙂
All of the stuff I spent time backing up was still on the phone, notes, music, videos and even all of my SMS messages.
Even better, it seems a little bit faster. It’s certainly seems faster finding the communications network when I reboot it.